Thursday October 7 2021

Newsflash 6/10/21

Dear Parents and Guardians,

This Month’s Focus from our MCC Eagles’ Creed:

“I engage in a healthy, physically active lifestyle” – associated verse:

“Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honour God with your bodies.”  

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Engagement Meeting: Our sincere thanks to the Gweru parents who made time to meet with us last week!

Thank you too to parents who have also been engaging with us through email. We are in partnership for the development of our children! 

SWOT Leave Reminders for Day Scholars: Day Scholars do not have to come to school during SWOT Leave. However, should they be coming to school to get assistance from their teachers, they are to be at school by 7:20am – reporting to their form teacher for register taking. A day scholar may then only go home between 1-2pm, or at 3:30pm, or at 5pm. Any movements outside of this time will require a written request from a parent. 

Examination Days – Day scholars should be at school by 7:20am on the day that they have a morning examination, and at 1pm on a day that they have an afternoon examination.

Assessment 5 Celebrations: We celebrate the following top achievers for the Internal ‘Mock’ Examinations. A reminder to check on your child’s performance through the Senatical Portal – Use the quick link on our website. For assistance and password resets – please email

Positions by House:

Position 3: 117 As Bateleur House

Position 2: 157 As Crown House

Position 1: 188 As Martial House 

U6 Top Achiever

Tirimunashe Shumba – 16 points

L6 Top Achiever

Karl Makahamadze – 20 points 

Form 4 Top Achiever

Rachel Tivavenge – 2A*, 5As

Form 3 Top Achiever

Panashe Mutambara – 4A*, 4As

Form 2 Top Achiever

Vakatendeka Chiremba – 5A*, 3As

Form 1 Top Achiever

Vongai Mutambara – 4A, 6As


Form 4 Subject Prize Winners (Awarded to the person with the highest Mid-Year Percentage higher than 75%):

  • English Literature & The Bhadhela Wholesalers Trophy – Tashinga Denga, Timukudzeishe Dondo, Emily Ndewere
  • English Language & The Rungisa Kombayi Trophy for English – Tanatswa Sisimayi
  • French & The Johnson French Trophy – Timukudzeishe Dondo
  • Geography & The Bhadhela Wholesalers Geography Trophy – Tinashe Masvore
  • Mathematics & The Patel Mathematics Cup – Tinashe Masvore
  • Physics & The Patel Physics Cup – Tinashe Masvore
  • History & The Tsitsi Nyamuzihwa Trophy – Vimbai Gwimbi
  • Ndebele – Vimbai Gwimbi
  • Chemistry & The Patel Chemistry Cup – Rachel Tivavenge
  • Accounting & The Bhadhela Wholesalers Accounts Trophy – Rachel  Tivavenge
  • Biology & The Patel Biology Cup – Joshua Mukondiwa
  • Biology (Core) – Tapiwanashe Makarichi
  • Fashion & Fabrics & The Jackson F & F Shield – Nigel Sibanda
  • Art & ‘O’ Level Art Shield – Laura Dzawo
  • Agriculture & The Grove Agriculture Trophy – Charmaine Mpepu
  • Design & Technology & The D Jackson Shield – Timukudzeishe Dondo
  • Physical Education – William Kasitomo and Laura Dzawo

Lower 6 Subject Prize Winners (Awarded to the person with the highest Mid-Year Percentage higher than 70%):

  • Mathematics & The Rubber Products Manufacturers Trophy – Takudzwa Ganhure
  • Biology & The Rubber Products Manufacturers Biology Trophy – Takudzwa Ganhure
  • Chemistry & The Entry Technology Chemistry Trophy – Takudzwa Ganhure
  • Geography & The Cash Choice Geography trophy – Panashe Mudyahoto
  • Physics & The Entry Technology Physics Trophy – Tadiwanashe Manyakaidze
  • History – Sharon Marangwanda
  • AS English Language – Sharon Marangwanda
  • Literature & The Cash Choice Literature Trophy – Sharon Marangwanda
  • Computer Science – Blessing Madhiri
  • Business Studies – Karl Makahamadze
  • Economics – Karl Makahamadze
  • Accounting – Karl Makahamadze
  • ICDL – Tadiwanashe Manyakaidze
  • Divinity & The Cash Choice Divinity Trophy – Kudzaishe Mumba
  • Physical Education – Tawananyasha Takaendisa

Upper 6 Subject Prize Winners (Awarded to the person with the highest Mid-Year Percentage higher than 70%):

  • Biology – Tirimunashe Shumba
  • Mathematics & The Yssy Perkins Maths Cup – Mufarowashe Dhitima and Kudakwaishe Man’ombe
  • Chemistry & The Devenport Chemistry Trophy – Kudakwaishe Man’ombe
  • Business Studies & The Merry Mhangami Trophy – Simeon Tivavenge
  • Accounting & U6 Accounts Trophy – Simeon Tivavenge
  • Economics & The NMB Shield – Sherpard Mathonsi
  • Computer Science – Kevin Chifamba
  • Geography & The Uwen Manual Trophy – Rachel Banda 
  • Literature & The Pswarai Trophy – Kundai-Karl Mpame
  • History & The Needflow Enterprises History Trophy – Kundai-Karl Mpame
  • Divinity & The Plight Trading Divinity Trophy – Elizabeth Msipa